Our Board

Our team of Non-Executive Directors have been selected for their wide-ranging skills and experience and provide independent oversight for the organisation.

Our Board is an independent statutory authority, responsible for the port’s administration, maintenance and improvement. 

Alistair Mackenzie

Chairman Alistair has worked in Aberdeen’s energy industry for more than 20 years. He is currently Regional Director (Oil & Gas) for Achilles Group Limited and owner/director of Mentor Aviation Services Ltd. Alistair is also a former Commissioner and Chairman of the Northern Lighthouse Board.

Morag McNeill

Vice-Chair Morag is a practising solicitor with experience in corporate finance and the ports industry. She spent seven years with Forth Ports plc as General Counsel and as a member of the management board. Morag is a non-executive director of several charities, including the Edinburgh Academy.

Bob Sanguinetti

Bob joined Aberdeen Harbour Board in September 2021 after three years as Chief Executive Officer of the UK Chamber of Shipping. Prior to this, he was CEO of Gibraltar Port Authority and amassed more than 20 years' experience in the Royal Navy.

Matt North

Matt joined Aberdeen Harbour Board in March 2015 after 12 years with the senior management team at Forth Ports Limited. With over 25 years' experience in the port industry, Matt has held senior directorships with posts in the Channel Islands, Northern France and Portsmouth. Matt is a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Logistics and Transport.

Jon Oakey

Jon joins the Board after three years with Stagecoach Group as Finance Director, Scotland including a period as Managing Director of the East Scotland bus operation. Jon’s extensive career spans the Oil and Gas and Transport industries, and he has managed operations around the world, including Trinidad, Tanzania and Houston, Texas. Jon is a Fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants.

Forsyth Black

Forsyth has considerable experience in international trade, having spent most of his career with Menzies Aviation where he held several senior positions. He was the first Board member of John Menzies PLC to serve on the main board and all divisional Boards. Forsyth has advised global businesses within the logistics, aviation and road transport industries.

Bertie Armstrong

Bertie Armstrong was Chief Executive Officer of the Scottish Fishermen’s Federation (SFF) and SFF Services Ltd, and previously Queen's Harbourmaster of the Clyde Dockyard Port. He was a Board member of the Fisheries Legacy Trust Company and a Trustee and Board member of Fisheries Innovation Scotland.

Mike Keith

Mike is an Associate of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants, who has worked in the construction industry for more than 30 years. Most of that time was with Morrison Construction where he held several senior finance positions, mainly as Finance Director and also was Managing Director of their Building business in Scotland for a period of more than 3 years.

Eleanor Craig

Eleanor has worked for over 20 years in the consumer goods business, mainly with Diageo in a number of international Managing Director roles. She is a Chartered Accountant and has a BA (hons) degree in Business Management. Eleanor is also a Non-Executive Director of the Scottish Qualification Authority.

Roy Buchan

Roy has worked in the oil and gas industry internationally for over 30 years and is a Chartered Engineer and Fellow of the Institute of Marine Engineers, Science and Technology and Fellow of the Chartered Management Institute. He was COO of Ithaca Energy, currently is a board member of Operational Excellence Group and works as an advisor with some technology businesses.

John Brebner

Non-Executive Member John holds various executive and non-executive roles, including President of AGCC, as well as undertaking project based advisory work. This follows a 34-year career with Clydesdale Bank where he undertook various senior roles, latterly Head of Regional Business & Private Banking Centre – East Scotland and Regional Head of Specialist & Acquisition Finance – North of Scotland.

Jayne MacLennan

Jayne is a Chartered Surveyor by profession and held the role as Group Director at FirstGroup PLC where she worked in the US, Europe and the UK. She now has a portfolio career as a consultant, executive coach and mediator. Jayne also holds number of Non-Executive Directorships, including on the boards of the Royal Force and LocatED. She is also a Trustee of the National Trust for Scotland.

The Remuneration Committee

The Remuneration Committee consists of four members: the Chairman, the Vice-Chairman and two Non-executive Board members. Its principal duties are to consider matters relating to staff wages and salaries. The Committee also considers in detail items or issues delegated or remitted by the Board, and reports back with recommendations or details of actions taken. 

The Audit & Risk Committee

The Audit & Risk Committee consists of five Non-executive Board members. Its principal duties are to manage external audits of management controls; to review external and internal audit strategies and to appoint and manage external auditors; to review annual management accounts and financial statements; to monitor the performance of the Board's long-term investments, and to benchmark the Board's corporate governance performance. 

The Property Committee

The Property Committee consists of four Non-executive Board members and its principal duties are to prepare and keep under review the estate management strategies relating to the Board's land and property holdings; to consider appropriate opportunities for extending the Board's property portfolio, and to review the appointment, performance and fees of the Board's external property advisors.