Our Executive Directors

Michelle Handforth

Michelle joined Aberdeen Harbour Board as Chief Executive in 2018, having held leadership roles in several business sectors, including aviation, rail, maritime, financial services and the oil and gas industry. She was the Managing Director of Babcock Offshore Helicopters in Aberdeen; prior to this she was General Manager for Sydney Ferries, in Sydney, Australia. Michelle is on the Board of the British Ports Association.

Matt North

Matt joined Aberdeen Harbour Board in March 2015 after 12 years with the senior management team at Forth Ports Limited. With over 25 years' experience in the port industry, Matt has held senior directorships with posts in the Channel Islands, Northern France and Portsmouth. Matt is a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Logistics and Transport.

Jon Oakey

Jon joins the Board after three years with Stagecoach Group as Finance Director, Scotland including a period as Managing Director of the East Scotland bus operation. Jon’s extensive career spans the Oil and Gas and Transport industries, and he has managed operations around the world, including Trinidad, Tanzania and Houston, Texas. Jon is a Fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants.

Keith Young

Keith has extensive experience in the Civil Engineering industry and has worked on significant national projects, including the Channel Tunnel Rail Link, the Millennium Link Canal, the Kingston Bridge, and the A92 Dual Carriageway from Arbroath to Dundee. He was a site representative for Aberdeen Harbour’s Torry Quay Redevelopment Project, which was completed in 2014. Keith is a Member of the Institution of Civil Engineers and has been a Chartered Civil Engineer since 2004.