• Alistair Mackenzie


    Alistair has worked in Aberdeen’s energy industry for more than 20 years. He is currently Regional Director (Oil & Gas) for Achilles Group Limited and owner/director of Mentor Aviation Services Ltd. Alistair is also a commissioner of the Northern Lighthouse Board.

  • Howard Woodcock

    Vice Chairman
    Board member since 2012

    Howard has been involved in shipping and marine businesses for 30 years. He has been Chief Executive of Bibby Offshore Holdings Limited since 2005 and has also helped with fundraising for a number of local organisations, including Cornerstone and Absafe.

  • Michelle Handforth

    Chief Executive

    Michelle has held leadership roles in several business sectors including aviation, rail, maritime, financial services and the oil and gas industry.  Until recently, she was the Managing Director of Babcock Offshore Helicopters based in Aberdeen. She has served on the Board of various companies, and was at one point General Manager for Sydney Ferries based in Sydney Australia.

  • Jayne MacLennan

    Non-executive member 
    Board member since 2017

    Jayne was Group Director at FirstGroup PLC and now has a portfolio career as a consultant, executive coach and a number of non-executive board roles including the Royal Air Force, LocatED and Glasgow Prestwick Airport. She is also Chair of the LionHeart Benevolent Fund and a Trustee of the Scottish Association of Mental Health. 

  • Mike Bowyer

    Non-executive member 
    Board member since 2013

    Mike is a Chartered Engineer and Chartered Director who has worked in the oil and gas industry for over 37 years, holding executive positions with several companies. He currently sits on the Board of OPITO Strategic Limited. In 2012, Mike was appointed Chair of the Aberdeen Branch of the Institute of Directors.

  • Luisa Campbell

    Non-executive member 
    Board member since 2017

    Luisa is the Managing Director of William Wilson Limited, which is part of Wolseley UK. Until recently she also held the role of Regional Trading Director of Plumb Centre for Scotland and Northern Ireland. Luisa has been with William Wilson for 25 years and oversees the operation of 23 branches across Scotland. In addition, she is a trustee of a charity in Clydebank.

  • John Brebner

    Non-executive member & Board member since 2018

    John holds various executive and non-executive roles, including President of AGCC, as well as undertaking project based advisory work. This follows a 34-year career with Clydesdale Bank where he undertook various senior roles, latterly Head of Regional Business & Private Banking Centre – East Scotland and Regional Head of Specialist & Acquisition Finance – North of Scotland.

  • Mike Porter

    Non-executive member 
    Board member since 2015

    Mike has over 30 years’ experience in the provision of logistics, marine and integrated supply base solutions to the offshore energy sector.  He has held several leadership positions with prominent contractors, latterly as Chief Operating Officer of Peterson prior to joining the Harbour Board in January 2015.

  • Morag McNeill

    Non-executive member 
    Board member since 2013

    Morag is a practising solicitor with experience in corporate finance and the ports industry. She spent seven years with Forth Ports plc as General Counsel and as a member of the management board. Morag is a non-executive director of several charities, including the Edinburgh Academy.

  • Chris Bain

    External Relations Director
    Board member since 2014

    Chris began her career in helicopter and marine logistics, working as a Logistics Manager with Petrofac, Dubai Petroleum and Ras Al Khaimah Petroleum, before joining Aberdeen Harbour Executive in 2013. Chris is also a Non-executive Board Member of the Aberdeen & Grampian Chambers of Commerce.

  • Tony Strachan

    Non-executive member 
    Board member since 2013

    Tony is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators and a member of the Institute of Directors. Between 2003 and 2010 he served as the Bank of England’s representative in Scotland. He has also been involved as a member of the Court and the Audit Committee of Heriot Watt University.

  • James Bell

    Finance Director
    Board member since 2011

    James joined Aberdeen Harbour Board in 2009 from Caledonian Brewery, where he had been head of finance since 2002. He trained with Bird Simpson Chartered Accountants and has worked with Meston Reid and Diageo. James is also Chairman of the Finance Group of British Ports Association, which he initiated in 2010.